download (4)

Bihar Assembly Elections a challenge amidst Covid panic

Bihar Legislative Assembly elections will be held in three phases with first stage on 28 October 2020, second on 3 November 2020 and third on 7 November 2020. The counting of votes will be held on tenth of November. It will be held to elect 243 members of the Bihar Legislative Assembly. The country’s biggest election in the coronavirus crisis will be held with many changes, including an extra voting hour and no physical contact during the campaign.

Current Chief Minister of Bihar, Nitish Kumar hopes to win this election, which would be his fourth term. His party will form a coalition with BJP.

Chief election commissioner Sunil Arora said that as per reports from Bihar’s chief electoral officer more than 700,000 units of hand sanitisers, 44.6 million masks, 600,000 personal protective equipment suits, 760,000 face shields, and 2.3 million gloves have been arranged for the polling staff. The commission has also acquired another 7.2 million single-use hand gloves for use by electors to cast their vote at the polling station.

As many leaders have rightly pointed out, Covid isn’t going anywhere for a long time. We must learn to live with it and continue with our day to day activities with utmost precautions. Hand sanitizers and disposable gloves will be made available to all the voters. Social distancing will be strictly followed.

Comments are closed.