Four Judicial Officials recommended by Kerala HC including two women for appointment as HC Judges

The Kerala High Court collegium has nominated four judicial officials for nomination as High Court Judges, two of them are women. 

According to reports, PG Ajithkumar, CS Sudha, C Jayachandran, and Sophy Thomas are the four candidates whose names have been submitted to the Apex Court collegium. 

Ms. Thomas is the first woman to hold the position of Registrar General of the High Court. She studied law at Ernakulam’s Government Law Colleges. Thrissur’s District and Sessions Judge was her prior position. PG Ajithkumar is the Subordinate Judiciary Registrar and functioned as the Additional Director of Kerala Judicial Academy before that. C Jayachandran is the Principal District and Sessions Judge in Kottayam, whereas CS Sudha is the Principal District and Sessions Judge in Ernakulam. In her departing statement, Hon’ble Justice PV Asha remarked that in the sixty-four years of the High Court’s existence, only three women judges, including herself, had been promoted from the Bar. She additionally noted that there is a need for increased female representation in the courts. 

At the leaving ceremony for Hon’ble Justice Indu Malhotra, Justice Chandrachud stated that the fact that the Supreme Court had just one female judge was deeply concerning. Justice Indira Banerjee is now the only female judge on the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court will now deliberate on the proposals and forward them to the Union Ministry of Law and Justice for approval. The Apex Court collegium consists of the Hon’ble Chief Justice and two of the Supreme Court’s most senior members.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *